Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself NEW HAGGIS-FLAVOURED SAX

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Michael Fisher
    Participant

HAGGIS-FLAVOURED SAX

19th January 2019

Hello Everyone,

Being here in Glasgow, Scotland, it’s great to be in contact with all the who enjoy Johnny’s sax style, passion and approach to teaching. I emailed him recently to say that he takes a complicated subject and simplifies it while some others do the opposite.

As a beginner of a couple of months deeply shallow experience I’m still working my way through Johnny’s “How to Play Saxophone – A Complete Beginner’s Guide” and ironing out some of the imagined problems I had with my reed, mouthpiece and ligature combination…still some way to go but I’ll get there.

I have:
      SAX: Yamaha YAS280 (Alto),
      MP: Yamaha 4C,
      REED: Leger Signature No.2. I switched to synthetic soon after starting out…it removes some of the uncertainties that haunt beginners with cane reeds…cheaper in the long run too,
      LIGATURE: Yamaha stock ligature.

QUESTION (It’s an old one I’m afraid but here it is):
      What would be a good upgrade combo of mouthpiece and ligature? For some reason I can’t quite identify accurately I don’t like the Yamaha ligature.
      The reason I ask is that I find it impossible to play pianissimo to forte and back again (crescendo to decrescendo to crescendo).

I’ve worn out my lips but have new ones on order.

Y’gottalaff

brother cavefish
      Participant

it would be the best thing you could do, , i have a friend who has some sweet alto for sale, theo wanne, and no one can beat the price

Anonymous

Hi Michael – the best investment for a beginner, is find a Sax teacher, preferebly one with a music degree, or someone who makes a living out of playing the Sax. At least have some “one to one” lessons for the 1st year.

Anonymous

is there any whisky better than dimple?

Michael Fisher
            Participant