Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Recording Your Saxophone Pick up the pieces on alto and recording question

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Scott Gumbiner
    Participant

Hi All,

First, thanks Johnny for pulling all of this incredible material together!

This is my first time trying to record myself, by myself. I know there is a lot to learn, but with almost no experience with garage band, I was able to record, edit, and post this all from my iPhone and a Shure MV88 mic that plugs right in the iPhone. All done easily with virtually no set up time. I’m just amazed that all of this was able to be done with something that fits in my pocket! I will polish the song up on my next go around when my better Recording equipment arrives….which brings me to my question.

I bought a focusrite 2i2 3rd generation for my analog to USB connection. It says it comes with an upgraded pre amp, but should I still purchase a separate pre amp?
      I also purchase a Shure PGA98 mic that clips on my saxophone. Besides those 2 things, the focusrite USB audio interface and the new Shure mic, is there anything else I should be purchasing to make decent quality recordings?

If anyone wants to listen to my recording on my Alto of pick up the pieces and offer any feedback on the recording or playing end, I’d be most appreciative to receive it.

Thanks again!

john
      Keymaster

Scott, first of all, congratulations! You did a simple thing which is one of the best things we can do to improve, and that’s to start recording yourself. Yes you can share and get feedback etc but most importantly you can start really listening to yourself which is something we can’t do as well while we are playing.

Speaking of listening to yourself, you need to bring up your sax in the mix. I can hear it but barely.