Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Improvisation Lesson 2: Diatonic Modes

• This topic has 18 replies, 6 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by john.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Dave McKay
    Participant

Hi Johhny,
      I’m sure you’ll clear-up my confusion in one sentence. I’m studying lesson 2, and at approx 4.45 in the video you explain that a Bb is NOT good to play with a F Major7 chord and we should consider one of the modes corresponding to a note in the F Maj7 chord …. the 1st, 3rd, 5th or 7th. But ALL these modes include the Bb ……… I’m Confused.

Hope you can help. Dave.

john
      Keymaster

yes all the modes include the Bb but we want to play the modes that start on the corresponding notes of the chord. and like I said in the video, Bb is part of the F major scale therefor will be part of all the modes BUT it’s not a note of the F major 7 chord (F A C E)

The reason for this is that as a quick passing note there in no problem playing the Bb over anything, but if we use it as a main note it does create that tension, not being a chordal tone. You need to get used to knowing how to match the right modes with the appropriate chords… this is what it’s all about.

Study the chart in lesson 2 at the bottom under “Chord Tones With Their Corresponding Modes” this is the key and later today I’ll be adding another video lesson there to dig in a bit deeper to help with this concept.

Anonymous

That’s awesome Johnny- the fact
          that you are so professional
          that you are keen on adding
          extra videos!

Everyone on this website is so
          luck!

I haven’t looked at lesson 2 yet,
          will do in a couple if weeks – but
          its still interesting to read
          questions from other members!

Dave McKay
          Participant

Hi Johnny,