Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Music Theory grades

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

bumped into a relative of mine i hadn’t seen in years, who did music in college and plays guitars/sings in clubs in his spare time.

I was telling him i started learning the sax 18 months ago, the 1st thing he asked me was what grade i was?
      In his oppinion if you didn’t have grade 8, he wouldn’t even look at you!
      So another 5 years for me! lol

Michael Bishop
      Participant

I don’t agree with relative’s viewpoint JB…what exactly does he mean that he won’t look at you? Is it because he doesn’t feel that you’re quote, “not good enough”? All too often, folks tend to forget where they come from, what it was like the first time we ever even tried picking up a Saxophone, etc.. You’re doing something that most people wouldn’t even REMOTELY consider doing…that alone makes you way cool! How much better it would be for your relative, with his experience, to open his hand and wanna help you get better v.s. saying he wouldn’t even look at you–to me that’s kind of sad to hear.

Anonymous

in his line of work, he wants experienced players to play along side, so by picking grade 8 as a minimum, he hopes to expect a better standard! Would you employ a qualified electrician or trainee electrician?

i can understand his point, if you are making a record, and you need to employ someone for a couple of hours to play a specific instrument on a track – you can cut down the number of interviews, as grade 8 players are practically pro standard players who can play most sheet music to a high standard of playing.

Perhaps my relation has been let down in the past by time wasters and dreamers?

Michael Bishop
          Participant

That’s why I asked, what exactly does he mean, or where is he coming from when he says that. If he actually does that for work and is making a record; of course you’re not going to take just anybody.