Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Improvisation mini course

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

i’m following the mini improvisation course.

I’ve only been playing the sax for 5 yrs now, and i must confess it took me several goes this week listening to ‘tequila’, to be able to count in the 7 bars to work out when to start playing the sax.

So a time saving practicing tip, set your music to start playing from bar 8 and use an ap, which allows you to set up a loop so you can practice playing any number of bars over and over that are problematic.

When i started learning to play the sax, i downloaded ‘tequila’ 5 yrs ago, and i could never count in the 7 bars, i always lost track after a few bars, and never started at the correct place. So i gave up on ‘tequila’ way back then.

I’m already familiar with how to do all the embellishments, as i started working on how to play embellishments from last December.
      It took me 3 months to play one exercise sheet stuffed full of embellishments – which paid off. In the past i’ve played the odd embellishment in music sheets but to no avail, to get into embellishments proper, you need to keep practicing lots of them on a single sheet.

I can just about play ‘tequila’, but i reckon i would have to spend several weeks, to play it properly, at the pace i work at.

john
      Keymaster

well that’s pretty good Walley. a few weeks to nail something like that is good, we all work at differnt paces…it’s not a race.
        as for the count in, there are a few different ways to do it and it’s not as easy teaching you thru an email or post like this but I’ll try…
        once we can get the count it’s a matter of counting each beat but if you’re having trouble I’m assuming then that you’re not able to count along with the beat.
        next thing I would try is to listen to the chord pattern and how the guitar is playing it;
        G G F..G G F..G G F..G G F
        1 2 3 4