Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Rocket Scientist from Huntsville Alabama

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Robert Frederick
    Participant

Hello Everyone

I started playing tenor sax in 4th grade in 1968. I played through grade school and High School Jazz and Marching Bands. Bought a Selmer Mark VII in 1976 and played at Purdue in their student Jazz Bands for four years and the Symphonic Band (double Bb Contra Bass Clarinet, i.e. kitchen plumbing). Picked sax back up from time to time over the years playing at New Year’s or church. Got the horn out of the attic and had it rebuilt about 15 years ago and played occasionally.

In 2015 discovered Johnny and picked out a few backtracks and played them for my wife (I Can’t help falling in Love with You, You’re Just Too Good to be True) on Mother’s Day. Built up about 15 songs. Then I found out I had a heart valve problem, so under the direction of my doctor, played my songs three times a week to prepare my lungs for heart surgery in December 2015 (considering a new book called Sax Therapy). Went to music building at my university into a very small practice room with an amp and played wide open for about an hour three times a week. I would pre-apologize to the students sitting on the old sofas outside and say that my playing was for “medicinal purposes only.”

My heart surgery went very well. My nurse woke me up in CICU after surgery at 2:00 AM and said I was singing very loudly. I said, “Was it the Elvis song? He said, “Yes, all the verses.” (“I Can’t help falling in Love with You”). I said, “Wow, I don’t even know all the verses.” So my heart, soul, and lungs were all back online.