Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Problems With Your Sax? Trouble playing high E/F on tenor

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jazz Cat
    Participant

Hi…though it’s simple for me to play high E/F/F# quickly and smoothly on my alto/yas62, I’m having a really tough time w/embouchure to play high E/F on my tenor/yts23 in-tempo for quick solos…any tips?

seems my notes squeak/squawk when I rapidly go from say hi B or D to high F, which is bad since I’m used to soloing fast up there (easily) on alto, feels like I’m way limited just being able to play up to high D up-and-down in tempo, say for an F blues jam.

I’m using a 2 1/2 reed; when I try 3s I get tons of squeaks/chirps everywhere, w/diff reeds, so it’s my weak embouchure

when I play slowly, deliberately I can eventually get an F played. feels like I’m a beginner again (which I am, on tenor); though on alto I can tear through the whole range quickly to F#, just not happening on tenor. a bit stuck…any ideas welcome (practice drill?)…thanks!

-k

Anonymous

the longest time i’ve ever played on a tenor is for 5 mins in a shop, and i found it way easier to play than my alto. I can only think that your tenor might be the problem, does the hole need cleaning on the neck where the octave pad opens. Is the pad sealing ok? sounds more like a pad leaking?

wayne wojnarowski
        Participant

Yeah thats what I was going to say, check your horn maybe some kind of mechanical problem, when you press down those pedals or levers, at some point they come in contact with the body of the horn and sometimes the small piece of cork that is on the other end of the pedal falls off small leak happens. Or get a old reed that you know you can hit those notes with and try it .

Jazz Cat
          Participant