Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Recording Your Saxophone Besame mucho from pavus

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Martin Pavíček
    Participant

Hello everyone, this is my first (released) recording:

I’m not completely satisfied with it, and I have several mistakes. Instead of middle D it sometimes plays a middle A – like the second aliquot from the bottom D – can it be related to the fact that I recently lost two adjacent teeth (stool) in the upper jaw?

Please make recommendations on what to focus on – but keep in mind that I started playing in 2017, at a very very mature age :-).

Thanks

Martin P.

Michael Bishop
      Participant

Beautiful song, thanks for sharing 🙂

john
        Keymaster

Martin great job for only starting last year!
          Your breathe control is lacking some support and I believe it’s not coming from your diaphragm.
          I’ll be doing a lesson on this soon.

johnny

Martin Pavíček
          Participant

Hi Johny, thank you for the reaction. With the right breathing I have the following difficulties:
            1. According to some sources, when breathing out, the belly should fall (ie if I lie on the ground on my back, my exhale should decrease my belly to the ground). However, according to other sources, the stomach should be “bent” when inhaled and then not to go dow when exhale – the diaphragm should move towards the head, but the abdominal wall should not descend to the ground. What do you think?
            2. If I really want to feel the air being pushed out of my diaphragm and nothing else, I play very loud – but if I do not want to play so loud, the airways do not put so much resistance and I do not feel if the air “leans” on the diaphragm or not .
            I hope I have described it comprehensibly.

Are there any sections in the record where you clearly hear the bad tone due to poor breathing? I.e. sections that would sound different if I breathe properly?