Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Bonjour de Saint-Raphaël, France

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Stanislas Gaillard
    Participant

Hi Johnny, hi everyone,

My name is Stan and I was born and live in France (nearby Cannes).

I started to play the saxophone three years ago in my 50’s. The following year, an elementary school friend of mine asked me to join his Rythm & Blues band and I played on stage for my first “fête de la musique”. It’s was a terrific experience and I felt as happy as a 10-years-old boy… I can’t wait to go back next month !

Otherwise I started learning the bases of music theory (enough to be able to reed an easy score) and basic skills during one year in my local conservatory of music but I could not be able to continue anymore, because the school decided to stop sax courses for the adults… So I intend to continue with a private teacher soon, because I am convinced that only playing by ear is fine but insufficient and I feel I do not progress anymore alone.

Currently I play a tenor student sax (Yamaha) with Ottolink Supertone Master 6* mouthpiece and some Lavoz reeds medium and intend to make me happy soon by purchasing a Selmer Super Action 80.

I have discovered Johnny on Youtube checked out some of his videos of tips and tricks and tonight while navigating I discover this site. It’s really great and rare that professionals take time and share their own experience to help non-professionals.

A special thanks for the help Johnny.

Et à bientôt amis musiciens !

Stan

Pete
      Participant

Hi Stan
        You will pick up a lot of useful tips on this site and advice from other people.
        France is great place for the saxophone and all the music festivals you have, also nice place you live.

Simon
        Participant

Hi Stan and welcome to best sax forum. I learned a lot from Johnny’s exercises and advices and he’s arrangements of songs are really awesome.

Simon

Stanislas Gaillard