Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums General Questions D&G pitch jumping

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

I am having an intermittent problem with D on my Alto and G on my Tenor.
      I don’t seem to be able to always start the note at the proper pitch.
      Sometimes the note begins too high and then it drops down to where it should be.
      I can play for a while with no problems and then suddenly the problem reappears.

Would someone please give me advice on what to pay particular attention to.
      Thank you

Anonymous

i’m no expert, but it could be a pad leaking!

the reason i say this, my teacher (i know i go on about what he says, but he’s been at it all his working life as a sax player) and he keeps saying don’t press so hard on the keys, you don’t need a lot of pressure to keep the key pads down.

Well today i was examining one of my bent key pads, and i noticed a slight gap on one side of the pads that didn’t close properly, i also noticed, if i pressed the key pad harder, it forced the pad closer home. So more pressure on keys results in more pressure on pads!

So i guess if you have a tiny leak on your D pad, then different amount of key pressures could result in different noises coming with the leak being more/less open with varying key pressure?

Michael Bishop
        Participant

Hi Jeffrey,