Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Daily Practice Routine #1 Does any other sad person do this (get a life, or get out more often)

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Since march 2015, a year and two months after i started learning the sax, i have record of every exercise i practiced each day for the last three years.

john
      Keymaster

Johnny, what would be the key signature of “Take Five”? In my B flat music books the key signature is A flat. In my JF lists of songs no key signature is listed but JF’s note tones and the A flat note tones are the same. E.g. G# for A flat, A# for B flat etc. Johnny’s rendition of “Take Five” with all the sharps is easier to play than the A flat rendition with all the flats, although the note tones are the same in both renditions. The A flat score ends in F. So F minor. JF’s score ends in F so F minor comes to mind. Maybe I should join sxpoet and get out more often

Anonymous

Hi William, I bought the Paul Desmond Collection Book with 17 transcriptions.

For the Alto sax, it is in Eb with 3 flats. Which agrees with your Ab key version of 4 flats for the Bb Tenor,
          and which makes the C version in F# (Ooohhh, six sharps!) – I’m glad I play Alto!

BTW – F minor is the relative minor of Ab Major.

According to Genesis – “You have to get in, to get ooouuuttt!” I presume that’s ‘in to the music’ – LOL

“And the lamb lies down on Broa – o – ord – way!”

john
          Keymaster

sorry guys, Take Five was one of the first songs I did on this site and I was still doing stupid things lioke not putting in a key signature once in a while!
            It’s in Eb minor concert so F minor on tenor. so ya, same key sig as Ab major cause F is Ab’s relative minor.
            for alto it’s in C minor which is same key sig as Eb major. this is same key as original Desmond record.

Anonymous

Genesis Lyrics
              “The Carpet Crawlers”

There is lambswool under my naked feet.