Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hi there!

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Gary Wilkins
    Participant

Hi!

I’m not a very good, or proficient, sax player (yet) but I have extensive musical experience. I just picked up an inexpensive alto to start learning fingerings and getting a nice tone (embouchure, breath control, etc.). I have played the clarinet (including the alto), oboe, bassoon, trombone and the bass guitar. I played in a jazz band in high school (don’t ask how many moons ago *that* was 🙂 ) and I always enjoyed the sax players (most are still good friends of mine). Music has been a huge part of my life. I have composed various pieces (symphonies, choral pieces, jazz, contemporary) and I am starting exercises for the alto (mostly to help me learn, but I sincerely hope others will also learn (starting with long tones and small tunes and progressing). I also own a soprano sax.

My biggest challenge is avoiding the octave break in the lower notes (I believe this is part of tightening my embouchure and breath control). I had similar issues with both the clarinet and oboe, although the oboe is a different beast but the similarities are the same. I’ve been watching some YouTube video on playing better sax.

What reed strengths do you use and why? I usually go with 2.5 (I like Rico) but I may start cutting and shaping my own if I get good enough. I’m curious about what you all think. I look forward to learning from you all, to lend my voice to help newcomers when I can, and to share the love of music and the enjoyment of being able to make it. Music is what YOU make of it, and the more you make, the more you will find deeper enrichment and enjoyment.

May you always be in tune!
      ~gary~

Gary Deripaska
      Participant

Gary,