Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Not enough Sax

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Randy
    Participant

Have been with Johnny’s program for a couple weeks now and love to check in to see what and who is new. It is always great to find a really good player that is willing to share and mentor their success and ideas of improvement. The site is quite a bargain and I hope we continue to see more topics as time goes. As for myself I have been playing about 10 years, I am 57. It was that or a Harley, so here I am. I started off taking some lessons with university grad students, MSU has a great Jazz program here in my area. I have traveled to do the Jamey Abersold program in Kentucky (on improvisation) and what ever else I had time to do. The Jazz thing is very cool but I had a hard time developing and putting it together. I have no music theory in my background, its like trying to learn a new remote control for your TV. So I simplified my quest and headed to the blues format. Well it struck a cord with me and not only found music I love and I had fun expressing my ideas as a player too. I have a band and our popularity is growing, we are really having fun with it. (everyone loves a sax player in a band). I am here because I know I am just at the tip of what I can learn and become. Improve is not a problem for me its controlling my space and developing a larger vocabulary which always seems far shorter than I want. Some of my favs are Johnny Ferreira, Jr. Walker, Sax Gordon, Boots Randolph and Ben Webster, Michael Brecker, Pete Thomas and 100 more that I listen too. Old or new there is and endless supply of inspiration. The Blues are just a damn good time.

john
      Keymaster