Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Show Us Your Sax P Mauriat?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    adrian marsden
    Participant

Hi I’m new to this and i want to invest in a good tenor sax and wondering what people think of the P Mauriat saxophones? I’ll mostly be playing rock and roll and although this will be my first saxophone i want one that i won’t necessarily need to upgrade in the future as even the “cheap” ones are expensive! Any advice or thoughts appreciated!

john
      Keymaster

Although not sure how it compares to the well established ones such as Selmer and Yamaha etc, I believe they’re a ligitmate horn from what I’ve heard but I’ve never tried one.

What I do know is that if you’re leaning towards rock playing you’ll be able to get the sound you want from your mouthpeice and reed set up much more than from the kind of sax you’re playing. With that in mind get as good a horn as you can afford, make sure it’s in perfect working order from a sax shop and away you go.

adrian marsden
        Participant

thanks for your advice!

kevin broughton
          Participant

hi had 1/2 a day in the sax .co shop in denmark st london (great shop) tryed 15 tenor sax Trevor James, Yamaha, Bauhaus-WALSTEIN
            P. Mauriat . all in the £1.500 to £2.500 price range. The P. Mauriat, big band and the le bravo were the best of the bunch (for the price)
            both had a full rich tone like my conn 10m

john
            Keymaster

Thanks for that. Am curious about the Trevor James tenor… I know the Canadian distributor here in Canada and am playing one of their altos.

kevin broughton
              Participant

hi my sax teacher has a Trevor James Signature Custom with a silver crook neck it sounds and plays really good the down side is the sax costs £2.499 and the neck £500.00 that’s heading towards Yanagisawa t991 i dont think there as good as that.