Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Reeds Reeds for Newbie

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Craig Duckering
    Participant

I just started playing a few weeks ago after 30 years. I am renting a Giardinelli GTS-300 Tenor, and so far it has been great to learn on as I am having to learn again how to read music, fingerings, etc. It came with a basic mouthpiece, not sure what brand, possibly same brand, and I got started with a box of 10 Rico 2.0 reeds. Watching the lesson video on reeds, I was surprised to find out how many in a box would possibly not work well, and I am finding that to be the case, but was hoping for a sanity check if anyone has some input. I have been testing 5-6 reeds, and found 2 so far that seem easier to blow and get a good sound. One of the others I thought at first was OK, but realized it seemed hard to blow, especially when I got to middle D with the octave key. It just seemed like too much work and I wasn’t getting a good sound especially in the lower notes. So put one of the good ones back on, and it was so much easier. Does that sound like normal behavior for a reed that is not great? And what to people do, just get a box of 10 and end up throwing out 6 or 7 of them?

With that, I am reading about the Fiberreeds, and I am interested. Any issues with using that type of reed on a student level mouthpiece? Related, it sounds like mouthpieces are personal preference, but is there a type that may be easier to blow? Whether carbon or metal? Thanks!

Anonymous

i had loads of problems with reeds when i started playing years ago.

i buy these reeds
        https://www.sax.co.uk/daddario-select-jazz-alto-saxophone-reeds-box-of-10.ir

they are so good, that i don’t buy them by the box anymore, i just go in my local music shop and buy one reed. Every single reed i have bought has played perfectly, and lasted between 6 months and a year, in fact most of the ones i changed, were accidentally broken.