Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Mouthpieces saxophone mouthpiece

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    wayne wojnarowski
    Participant

Could anyone tell give me some comments on what would be a good metal mouthpiece to get? I’m currently using a hard rubber 7 opening yanigasawa. Comment on brand opening whatever light you can shed.

Anonymous

Hi Wayne

I’ve been playing for nearly two years with a standard Yamaha 4C mouthpiece and I’m still seeing a weekly improvement in tone and volume.
        It may take quite a while before I can out perform this 4C mouthpiece.

I recently bought a silver Selmer Classic C* mouthpiece which had amazing performance compared to the 4C.

Selmer Silver

The catch is that to play these mouthpieces well (not squeaking etc.), one has to have progressed from beginner to the intermediate level at least.
        The larger the tip opening the more skill is required to control the tone of the mouthpiece.
        Even after playing for two years I’m still not comfortable to make a switch yet.

The reason I bought it was because I was made a really great offer (55% discount) and I will be graduating
        to this higher performance mouthpiece only once I have acquired complete control of the embouchure.

I personally think learners should acquire all the skills (altissimo etc.) on the beginner mouthpieces before moving to the metal.

The Selmer mouthpiece is also much louder and clearer than the 4C so the 4C may be better suited to play in certain environments.

wayne wojnarowski
        Participant

Thanks Jeff I’ve been on this particular MP. for at least off and on 5Plus yrs. With Black Friday coming I’m thinking of investing in a Yanigasawa or Meyer in hopes of getting at least 20% $ 185.00. Any comment? What’s your opening on it?? HAPPY THANGSGIVING

Anonymous