Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums General Questions Singing anyone?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Marc
    Participant

Hi, mates…

Some time ago, amongst several books and websites I started reading about learning how to play this beautiful instrument, I found an author who encourages beginners to sing as a side practice. Not only it improves your tone and your ear, it even helps a lot in controling your breath, since woodwind breathing is almost identical to that for singing.

My teacher strongly recommends me to “sing” the notes while reading solfége even if pitch is not perfect. That kinda made me decide to take singing classes at a music school near my place… moreover, they’re for free.

Anyone does or did some singing besides blowing his horn?

Anonymous

I started learning the Sax in Dec 2013, and Johnny’s “Daily practice routine” worked wonders for my tone,
        in a matter of weeks.

But in the last month i’ve started playing the virtual sax, and that is exactly what your teacher is talking about,
        you play with a pencil instead of the sax, using the same finger positions on the sax, and you sing or hum the exact notes
        for each finger position. This has completely changed my perception of the sound on my sax, and its the best thing out for pitch
        association when playing the sax, i use do,re,me fa as in “the sound of music” as the humming/pitch of notes.

Until you’ve tried this approach, you have absolutely no idea of the advances you make in terms of sax playing tone.
        After a few weeks, you can pick up any sheet music & hum the correct notes without even knowing the melody of the song.
        In fact its so good, that you can practice the whole piece in your head humming, in tone & time, that when you actually
        start playing the piece in a lot of cases, you can play the sheet music of in one take, instead of wasting time learning