Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums General Questions spit and more

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    dave hogwalds
    Participant

hello
      i started playing 2 or 3 weeks ago and i noticed sometimes after like a hour or two of playing spit starts to come out from my sax (i play alto sax if it matters)
      i searched on the web about it and besides of people telling me to wipe off my sax when i finish playing (which i do) i didnt got a good answer about it? is there a valve like in trumpet and other brass instruments?(is it normal that spit leak out from my sax keys?)
      and for another question is if there's another way to play stacato through another way of blowing in to ur sax( anything beside using ur tongue)
      and last question is about the range of notes in an alto sax, is there a way to produce higher notes or lower from blowing techniques and not only through pressing keys?

sry for asking too much and tnx for ur answer!!

john
      Keymaster

Hi Dave, I've noticed a very small amount of spit sometimes leaking out of a tone hole or 2 but very small drops after a lot of hard blowing etc. This is normal, for me anyway. There is no spit valve on your sax, just on the bigger ones such as the bari.

Your reed can collect spit quite easily and if you become aware of this, you will ensure to have less build-up in your mouth and eventually minimize this.

When playing staccato notes the only way is to do it with your tongue.

High notes above the high F# are possible and are called altissimo notes. To develop this technique requires a good foundation of many other things and you shouldn't worry about it after only a few weeks of playing. You'll need more control over your horn to even start producing a controlled altissimo register.

This doesn't apply to low notes. The lowest note on your sax is produced by playing the low Bb key.

Alan Sizer
        Participant

Hi Dave,