Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Saxophone Lessons To Bite or Not To Bite?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    RRBirdman
    Participant

So you player who have had lessons have you been told to always have your teeth on the MP? I have read of people biting so hard they bite through the patches etc. I don’t hardly ever even put my teeth on the patch let alone bite. Is this technique right or wrong? I have always tried to use lip strength more. When I do have my teeth on the MP the vibrations sort of bother me or it changes the way I hear the tone etc… What is best?
      Thanks

Anonymous

Hi RRBirdman,
        I started playing Alto 5yrs ago, and had lessons from day one.
        i started out with a yamaha 4c mouthpiece, and it was so slippery, i
        had to put a patch on the mouthpiece to stop the mouthpiece moving
        while playing, So to start out, i had to bite down to keep the
        mouthpiece fixed in place while playing.

five years down the line, i can play with the top teeth off the
        mouthpiece or on it. But i do know someone who has bitten through
        their mouthpiece. lol

You can also play the sax with both the top teeth off the mouthpiece and
        the top lip off the mouthpiece, to do that, you lift the sax body up
        with both hands upward and this forces the reed onto your bottom
        lips. So this gives you an idea that waving the sax up and down while playing can also alter the tuning of the pitch slightly – make sure your head moves with the sax movements.

RRBirdman
        Participant

Thank you for the reply
          I can play both ways but I tend to play with my teeth off and have trying to force myself to play with them on more as I seem to have read that it is the “proper” way to do it. If it doesn’t matter I will just continue to play teeth off unless there is an advantage to teeth on.

Pete
          Participant

RR