Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Music Theory Transposing- help?!

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    lauren
    Participant

Hi All,
      I am very new to any kind of music and have got an Alto recently so I am a beginner.
      I’m having serious trouble with understanding transposing.
      So if I want to play a a c major scale along with my partner (who plays guitar) does that mean one of us has to change our scale for it to sound the same?? And if not then how does transposing come into the equation when playing together?
      Thank you,
      Lauren

Dazza
      Participant

Hey Lauren. I read your post and quickly remembered how frustrating and confusing it was when I started my sax journey less than two years ago. It will come just stick with it. I now comfortably understand the relationship between instruments and have most scales and their notes imbedded in my brain and most under my fingers without thinking. I got all my theory knowledge off the internet and by scrolling through forums like this. Hope this helps….

Original Key ____________Key for Alto Sax (Eb)

G ————————– E (4 sharps)
        G# (Ab) ——————- F (1 flat)
        A ————————– F# (6 sharps)
        A# (Bb) ——————- G (1 sharp)
        B ————————– Ab (3 flats)
        C ————————– A (3 sharps)
        C# (Db) ——————- Bb (2 flats)
        D ————————– B (5 sharps)
        D# (Eb) ——————- C (nothing)
        E ————————– C# (7 sharps)
        F ————————– D (2 sharps)
        F# (Gb) ——————- Eb (3 flats)

lauren
        Participant

Thank you for your help Dazza. So does this mean that for example if I’m playing in the key of C major then a guitar player would have to play in the key of Eb major to match?

paddy jordan
          Participant

Hi Lauren

http://www.saxontheweb.net/Transposition
            this shows you the transpositions.