Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Mouthpieces Trying to get that edgy, bright sound for Rock

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Frank Basamania
    Participant

I’m trying to get that rock sound, the only way I can describe it is like Clarence Clemens sound. From what I gather, a metal mouthpiece is the way to go. I have a Selmer S80 C* that I picked up when I bought the sax before this one I have now but I think it’s more for Classical musicians. I’m playing a Tenor. I’m trying to stay around $200. I see Johhny, you recommend a Theo Wanne but the cheapest one I found is the Brahma for $345. I see Otto Links for around $220, I thought I would go with one of these. Just thought I would run it by this forum before I go any farther. Then Otto Link comes in all these sizes – 4*, 5, 5*, 6, 6*, 7, 7*, 8, 8*, 9, 9*. Which one would be best? I really appreciate this resourse, thanks, Johnny for setting this up. I’ve been a musician most of my life, I used to play sax in a rock band but really didn’t know what I was doing, I can’t believe I did it and everyone liked it. I did play Flute, Keyboards and Guitar also in the band. Now that I know what I know about the sax, mostly from this website, I can’t belive I did what I did before!! I’m back to playing sax and I love it more than anything. Thanks, everyone for any input.
      Frank

Z
      Participant

A metal mouthpiece will help. But you need to practice and figure out which one you’re going to get before deciding. I sort of made the mistake of buying online because there’s no music store where I live. I got a metal berg Larsen 110/1 which is equivalent to a 7*. It plays great for when I’m trying to play loud, but I can’t get my low notes out as well and I can’t play quietly at all. You need to make sure you get a mouthpiece that doesn’t limit the rest of your playing ability for the sole purpose of getting that bright edgy sound.

Frank Basamania
        Participant