Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Mouthpieces Warming up on a metal mouthpiece compared to a plastic/rubber

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Jonathan Hurst
    Participant

I have been playing plastic and rubber mouthpieces for the 5 years of my playing. I just got a mouthpiece, it has A-7 on it, dunno what that means.
      I cannot seem to get the sound like I do out of my usual mouthpiece. How do I warmup on a metal to achieve the same great sound?

Z
      Participant

A metal mp can be tough to figure out if you’ve been playing on hard rubbers. I switched from hard rubber to metal with horrible results at first. It squeaked horribly, and I could only get a sound out if I blasted. I then switched to a different reed, I went with a whole new brand and went down a strength. (I was using java 3’s, and I switched to Rico jazz 3 soft) the piece played beautifully and I’ve been using it ever since. Id experiment with mainly getting a thinner reed. On a hard rubber piece, I used a 3 or 3 1/2 for the classical stuff. Playing on a metal, you need to go down to about a 2 or 2 1/2. What kind of reeds are you now using?

Jonathan Hurst
        Participant

Well I am more into jazz so I’ve been using a Selmer S80 rubber, with Rico Jazz 2M Reeds.

Z
          Participant

It might just take some practice because that’s already a really soft reed. If you know it’s a good mp (as in good/professiona quality), then I’d just keep playing around with it.

Dazza
            Participant