Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Your Video First attempt with Tenor

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Hi Guys

I am just beginning to get a decent tone on my Tenor. Here is a tune from Bob Mintzer’s Book.

Blues Number One

I have discovered that by tightening the neck strap and raising the MP position, so that the reed is pointing at my mouth’s palate at about 45°; I am able to get a much better tone than by blowing the MP straight, which is how I play on my Alto. In this position it’s like I’m blowing flat against the reed, with the MP just behind my teeth. There is a huge difference in sound quality and ease of playing.

Anonymous

Oh! – My! – Goodness!

I just tried my new MP position on the Alto. It was like I was blowing through a rubber hose whilst standing on it, and now I’ve stepped off the hose.

To describe the new position is to play and raise your chin as high as possible. This means bringing the bottom end of the sax as close to the body as possible to achieve the tilted down MP angle. I found that when seated, putting the sax on the right hip (as if playing a bass guitar) with the hands close to the body, left hand in front and right hand on hip is most comfortable, as I can tilt the sax back more and then my head is in the normal position. To play in this position the sax neck has to be turned to the right a little and the MP rotated clockwise, so the reed is back in the level horizontal position again.

This may be an exaggerated position but it works for me to begin with. I can’t believe the difference in sound, it is amazing!

Anonymous

Great stuff Jeff – keep at it, you’ve got a good classical tone going, similar to the sax players that i played next to, when i spent a day in an orchestra last year.

Would have commented sooner, but been out of sorts with sciatica, over the past few days.