Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hello everyone

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Roadrider
    Participant

Hello, name is Frank…and I am a saxaholic. I am addicted to a saxophone.

I bought my first sax this past Christmas, a Jean-Paul AS-400 Alto.
      I have been learning on my own for the past 5 months. The more I practice the more addicted I become…It’s vicious circle!
      My goal is to be able to join the mens ensemble at church and of course for recreation.
      I have been following Johnny on YouTube for months and jumped at the chance to take lessons from him.

Thanks for reading my intro
      Frank

john
      Keymaster

Good for you Frank!
        If you want to play with others quickly I recommend working on playing in tune as much as possible.
        Playing in tune will help you blend into the group and not stick out.

Mike Potter
        Participant

Hi Frank, welcome to the forum!

Roadrider
          Participant

Thanks, the major issue right now with joining in at church is I don’t know anything about band arrangements or orchestration. Its nothing like the sheet music O print out from the net. The book from church is for an alto sax, it doesn’t sound anything like the solo songs I’ve been practicing with. Since the guys at church have been playing for decades, they don’t need or have practice sessions. They invited me to sit in, but at this stage I don’t think Im ready to attempt this in front of the entire congregation.
            Frank

Anonymous

Not a problem Roadrider, if you are playing in a group of Sax players, all the pressure is off, what i used to do, and a lot of other sax players did, was just play the parts of the sheet they could manage, as there are enough sax players arounds that will carry the whole song through without even needing your slightest input.