Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Introduce Yourself Hi. New and overwhelmed…

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Lisa Heselton
    Participant

Hi,
      I just found this site and it looks great for help and resources.
      My name is Lisa. I’m from UK. I have received an alto sax for Christmas having always not so secretly wanted one!
      I’ve played wind since having learned recorder at school and do play flute. Entirely self taught by ear, unable to read music and prob not very good in reality. Certainly, very out of practice!
      Last year I dabbled with cornet, brass band, lessons and rudiments of music reading.
      Not being able to commit fully it fell by the wayside. And I truly missed having that challenge.
      Hence the gift of the saxophone as its been a lifelong ambition to play.
      So, I am at the very beginning. I can get a few notes out. I’m learning to put a few together. I squeak a lot and run out of breath too soon. I’m confused by the world of reeds and feeling a little frustrated and overwhelmed by what stretches out in front of me.

But I like a challenge.

Goals are “Night Train” and anything that sounds bluesy, sleazy and burlesque.
      For now I’d be pleased by being able to play a decent “Happy Birthday” by May!

So any tips or pointers to a newb would be appreciated. As well as any reassurance that I haven’t taken on too much!

Or simply stop by to say hi.

Thanks,
      Lisa. X

Anonymous

hi Lisa – i’m from the midlands, not many people on here from the UK, there is a vast cultural difference between our cousins over the pond.
        It’s a great site for backing tracks & tips from JF.

Lisa Heselton
        Participant

Hi, sxpoet, nice to meet you. I’m up in north east.
          I can’t wait to get to a standard where I can play along to a backing track. At the moment I’m working on my first few notes but they sound flat. It has only been days though.