Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Show Us Your Sax I am buying a new sax. Any advice on these five models?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Colin Paralusz
    Participant

I have narrowed it down to five tenor saxophones.

> I have been playing the flute for many years and started the tenor saxophone in 2019. I have a modified 2007 Jean Baptiste or Taiwanese model that I played new from 2019 to 2024 until the mother-of-pearl keys started to fall off.  I added Oleg palm keys, a few new pads along the way, and a copper neck, and went through three mouthpieces (a generic student model, an Otto Link 8 rubber mouthpiece, and a metal Otto Link 8 mouthpiece). I consider myself an enthusiast who still has a way to go.  I am no Michael Brecker.  I am ready to buy a new tenor saxophone at Long and McQuade in May.  I tried out the following tenor saxophones with the fifth being tried out this week:
      >
      > 1) Yamaha Professional Tenor: YTS62III at $ 4,789.99
      > 2) Yamaha Intermediate Tenor: YTS480 at $3,959.99
      > 3) P Mauriat, Le Bravo Tenor Sax at $3,725.00
      > 4) Conn-Selmer STS411, Copper Finish at $4,050.00
      5) Henri Selmer Paris 54 Axos Tenor Saxophone at $5,699.00
      >
      > Believe it or not, I liked the Yamaha Intermediate or YTS480, but it is made in Indonesia. Yamaha though has quality control. (I loved my Japanese Muramatsu flute for its quality.)
      >