Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Your Video Michelle – i recorded on Bb Clarinet

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    sxpoet
    Participant
      sxpoet
      Participant
        Jeff
        Participant

Nice one James, I love the mellow woody sound of the clarinet.

sxpoet
          Participant

I bought the clarinet off my daughter, with the view that she can have it back later on if she decides to pick it up again, i had to have it serviced as one of the pads had worn out and the four corks on it needed shaving down, and i had to buy a better ligature for it.

The annoying thing is when i started playing, i couldn’t put it down because the sound is so different, so now i have practice two instruments every day. On the clarinet i mainly just practice scales over and over, to get used to the different fingering positions in the three octaves.

Played on a Buffet E13 Bb Clarinet
            using a Plasticover D’addario Clarinet Reed 2.5
            with a stellar X2 Vintage Microphone
            connected to a TASCAM’s DP-03SD 8-Track Digital Portastudio

It took me several attempts at getting the Microphone in the best position.

i’m having problems recording the Alto, i need to spend more time trying out different microphone positions, and alto setup…

Leo Salu
            Participant

Nice job, we have a budding Benny Goodman in our mists.

sxpoet
              Participant

thanks for the support, Jeff and Leo.
                I was quite surprised how well a plasticover reed sounded on the clarinet, the reed i used was a size 3.5 not a 2.5 reed, plasticover reeds are quite good on the Alto as well, saves you having to wet them.