Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Recording Your Saxophone Recording Myself

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    RockinRobin
    Participant

Recording myself.
      Good idea. I record myself 30 to 40 times a day every day on GarageBand. Right now I’m recording a song but I won’t post it until I get it right. I’ve been playing this song since 1996 but I usually mess up one or two notes before I get to the end. I have a backing track and I play along with the backing track. Well in about a year I might have it ready to post. Like Johnny tells us. Recording yourself is the best way to learn the sax. Have fun making music. Cheers
      William

Anonymous

Here’s a tip from a concert pianist. Only use it when you come across a section of notes that you keep making mistakes on.

lets say you have a problem with 8 notes (or any number of notes).

practice notes 1,2,3,4 over and over (at least 8 times) until you can play it without a mistake.

then practice notes 2,3,4,5 over and over (at least 8 times) until you can play it without a mistake.

then practice notes 3,4,5,6 over and over (at least 8 times) until you can play it without a mistake.

then practice notes 4,5,6,7 over and over (at least 8 times) until you can play it without a mistake.

then practice notes 5,6,7,8 over and over (at least 8 times) until you can play it without a mistake.

then practice notes 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 this time you should be able to play all 8 notes without a mistake.

RockinRobin
        Participant

Good tip James.I was having a problem going from the D.S. to the signal and continuing so I’ll go over those sections and trying to keep up with the backing track

Anonymous

Here’s what a professional jazz player that i know does, it’s fairly obvious, and he does it every time when he has to perform playing a music sheet with a backing track.