Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Mouthpieces Silver mark 7 tenor mouthpiece

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Elizabeth Wallace
    Participant

Hi….. I’m not sure whether I have been a bit foolish… I have been playing alto sax for 8 years… Treated myself to a yanigasawa tenor…. I have been finding the change quite hard… I treated myself to a silver mark 7 mouth piece…. With some advice… And I just can’t get a decent note!!!… Squeaking all the time… Its just putting me off practise…. Feeling a bit deflated… Should I persevere or change my mouthpiece… I have since been told that I should never have bought a metal one….. Ps… I play selmer mouthpiece on alto beautifully… Its not metal…. Should I stick to what I know?….. Confused….

john
      Keymaster

Who told you you should never have bought a metal one and why? The material is a personal preference and there are many models that are easier to play than rubber ones so whoever told told you that doesn’t understand it.
        Having said that….I would recommend you stay with a hard rubber piece for now at least because you made a saxophone change.
        If your new Yani is in great shape (no leaks etc) and you’ve been playing for several years you need to look at your mouthpiece and reeds.
        squeaks are usually from the reed.
        I’m not familiar with a mark 7 mp, even tho I have a mark 7 tenor, so I don’t know if it’s a good easy blowing one or not.
        So Liz, don’t give up on the tenor, try to find an easy blowing mp first!

Mike Potter
        Participant

Congrats on the new sax! Yani’s are nice instruments.