Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums General Questions Unpredicted squarking sounds

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 55 total)
  • Author
    Reg Hite
    Participant

Hi Johnny, I started playing the Tenor Saxophone 2 months ago and according to my teacher I am doing very well. The one problem I still seem to face from time to time is a note played producing a squarking sound as opposed to the required sound. I happens more often when I move up from a first octive C or B to the second octive D. This is usually when I need to apply the octive key. I have tried different a Embrochure and just when I think that I have solved the problem, bang there it happens again. This affects my playing fast tunes more because it is guarenteed to happen. Do you have any advise for me for this problem.

john
      Keymaster

Sounds like you’re dealing with the dreaded octave key break. I have an exercise for this in my “How To Play The Saxophone” book. It’s basically an exercise that hovers around this” octave break” which is C# to D in the 2nd octave.

Practise where the break actually happens wich is those 2 notes, back and forth, up a few, down a few. You’ll notice the hard part is at this break and you need to adjust your embouchure and make sure you’re hitting the proper fingerings in time as well, because if you’re late it won’t happen.

Reg Hite
        Participant

Thanks for the advice, I will apply this during my practice regime. Since I wrote you, I made another discovery which I believe is also causing this problem and that is around the 3 palm keys under the left hand. These keys have got such much leverage which makes them so sensitive that if I just slightly rest against them, they tend to open slightly which also causes this sqarking sound. I am now conciously keeping my left hand clear of them when not using them and this seems to have solved the problem.

john
          Keymaster

Yes that would certainly do it! Good thing you discovered the problem.

Reg Hite