Skip to main content

Home Alt Forums Daily Practice Routine #1 Don't do it!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Carl Robinson
    Participant

Very hacked off with myself today. I broke a cardinal rule, “never practise when your hearts not in it”. My performance was well below par even though I’m a beginner. I would have been better off brushing up on theory, or even keying the notes without sounding them. I’ve had a serious talk with myself and decided a cup of Tea and a break will put me back on track.

jak Swift
      Participant

Hi Carl. Not to worry man, we all get these days.
        May I suggest the most important discipline.
        Long tones, pushing from the diaphragm and blowing through the horn.
        I’ve made the switch to alto, and am having to contend with a longterm muscle pull in the chest.
        Right now, the daily disciplines are exactly that.
        I really can’t stress enough, just how important this is. Chin up mate, tomorrow will be a better day.
        Take it easy….
        Best….jak

john
        Keymaster

we all have those type of days Carl….have another go at it tomorrow.

Carl Robinson
          Participant

JAAAAAAAK how ya doing mate? I’m still using that MP ya sent me for my Trevor James, much better than that bag of crap it came with lol. Love those long notes, especially the low ones. I try altering the velocity of breath etc. I like it when you are barely putting enough breath to sound the note and you get those wonderful “undertones-overtones”? FUNKY lol.

Carl Robinson
            Participant

I’m back in the ring Boss and working through your Blues download.

jak Swift
              Participant

Hi Carl, I’m doing fine mate. Getting my head around this alto is a longterm thing. As I said , I’ve got a pulled chest muscle, so its all about those long tones from the diaphragm. Glad your back into it mate. Have a funky day !!

jak Swift
                Participant